Ultimate Amiga

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1  (Read 15574 times)

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« on: December 09, 2009, 11:50:44 PM »

As  a few of you know, for some time now I've been a Mac user (most of the time) and anyone else in the same boat may find they have had something of a disappointment when it comes to Amiga Emulation. WinUAE users are used to a life of luxury by comparison, with easy-to-find guides, documents and release files. Finding information on running UAE on the Mac however, can be something of a back-and-forth process when it comes to finding the right builds or suitable information on getting up-and-running.

So I decided to create a little .dmg package for would-be E-UAE users running OSX. I hope it contains everything you need to get E-UAE running on either PowerPC or Intel machines. It's now available for download below, and I hope it will be of some use to some of you. I will also be creating a general guide on the topic, via the link on the front-page.

Enjoy!



Package Contents

   - E-UAE 0.8.28-WIP4 (Universal Binary)
   - E-UAE 0.8.28-WIP4 (Intel Binary)
   - E-UAE 0.8.28-WIP3 (Intel Binary)
   - E-UAE 0.8.27-RC2 (Universal Binary)
   - Hi-Toro (GUI) 0.5.2
   - Hi-Toro (GUI) 0.2.7
   - SDL Library (Universal)
   - CAPS Library (Universal)
   - Helpful Readme.txt




Mirror
« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 09:47:15 AM by Hungry Horace »
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

rtyper

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 07:47:59 PM »

Thank you :)
Logged

Bloodwych

  • ClassicWB Dev
  • Amiga Guru
  • A600
  • ****
  • Karma: 9
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • For those who dare!
    • Classic Workbench
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2009, 06:24:33 PM »

Nice work!!! You are always on the go with useful interesting projects!

This would be a nice match with the ClassicWB packs. How about we convert the UAE pack for E-UAE as well as WinUAE. :)

I'm talking about this one: http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/uae.htm

Obviously I will be updating it soon, but I'm waiting for some info on KGLoad and iGame 1.6 before I can release.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2009, 06:26:11 PM by Bloodwych »
Logged
Live Long and Procrastinate
A500 Batman Pack
Classic Workbench

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2009, 12:23:15 AM »

hey BW, i think maybe something can be arranged :)

dunno if you ever pop onto IRC, but i'm always in our local chatroom open for discussion of such ideas ;)   i dont run such a high-spec CWB setup even on E-UAE tbh, but i'm sure it would work!
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

Bloodwych

  • ClassicWB Dev
  • Amiga Guru
  • A600
  • ****
  • Karma: 9
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • For those who dare!
    • Classic Workbench
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2009, 05:09:34 PM »

Muzer recently wrote a guide to running E-UAE in Linux:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=49562

I'm interested in getting an all-in-one pack just like the WinUAE version sorted, only E-UAE for Mac and Linux users, but I'm told HDF's are not a good idea?

Will definately look at discussing this in the future HH. Thanks for the offer.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 05:11:05 PM by Bloodwych »
Logged
Live Long and Procrastinate
A500 Batman Pack
Classic Workbench

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2009, 01:28:44 PM »

that guide looks a bit over-complicated for just mounting a folder or HDF!!

I'm sure it's only HDF creating that e-uae doesnt do directly.
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

Bloodwych

  • ClassicWB Dev
  • Amiga Guru
  • A600
  • ****
  • Karma: 9
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • For those who dare!
    • Classic Workbench
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2009, 01:40:03 PM »

That's why I posted it here - wanted a second opinion.

I was expecting it to be fairly easy to take the HDF's and Directories already in use in the WinUAE pack, and just mount them in E-UAE.

Muzer wrote a nice guide, which I'm thankful for, but warned me not to use HDF's here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=49681
Logged
Live Long and Procrastinate
A500 Batman Pack
Classic Workbench

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2009, 04:49:18 PM »

i think i have only tested it on my Mac. but i'll check on the PS3 (Linux) as well.


edit: i can definately confirm it working on the Mac. Hi-Toro GUI even features 'Create HDF' option which i had never really paid any attention to ;)  (i think it uses an external program though)
« Last Edit: December 22, 2009, 05:01:10 PM by Hungry Horace »
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

wonderbutt

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2010, 06:53:09 AM »

Hi, I love your tutorial and dedication to emulating on OS X.
But the download no longer works!

Is there another place to download it?
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2010, 11:56:07 AM »

i will locate the original copy and re-upload when i get home from work :)


edit: Mirror in first post.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 09:49:23 AM by Hungry Horace »
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

wonderbutt

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2010, 10:46:05 AM »

Thanks very much!
Logged

bones

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2010, 09:26:58 AM »

Hi, I'm using the E-UAE 0.8.29-CVS Intel build from this package. Unfortunately I cannot seem to get the USB joypad to respond correctly, only the fire button is active, the D-pad doesn't work. I have read that USB input was broken in E-UAE for Mac, but was apparently fixed in the later CVS build. This is the most referenced link to this 'fixed' Intel build, but it's currently unavailable,

http://www.simplyamiga.com/uae/e-uae.0.8.29-CVS.20080608.zip

Does anyone have any tips on configuring USB joypads for E-UAE on OS X?

Thanks,

Darren
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2010, 09:41:16 AM »

depending on the pad, the d-pad may be assigned to further buttons, instead of to the horizontal / vertical axis.

my PS3 pad is setup like that... have a look at the following: (see buttons 4-7 - these are the d-pad)

Code: [Select]
input.1.joystick.0.disabled=0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.0=KEY_NP_MUL.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.3=JOY2_CD32_PLAY.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.4=JOY2_UP.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.5=JOY2_RIGHT.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.6=JOY2_DOWN.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.7=JOY2_LEFT.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.10=JOY2_CD32_RWD.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.11=JOY2_CD32_FFW.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.12=JOY2_CD32_YELLOW.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.13=JOY2_CD32_BLUE.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.14=JOY2_CD32_RED.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.15=JOY2_CD32_GREEN.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.16=SPC_QUIT.0



I am sure the USB element doesnt affect it - E-UAE just uses whatever joysticks the OS has available to it, so you need to see what the pad is 'sending' to the OS.
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

bones

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2010, 10:12:30 AM »

Thanks for that, I'm using a PS2 pad, and your configuration enables the second analog stick, so I'm finally making some progress. Now I just need to figure how to configure the D-pad. What would be useful is an app for actually seeing what the OS receives when a button is pressed.

Anyone here with an already configured PS2 pad? :)

Thanks again,

Darren
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,338
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2010, 10:22:50 AM »

try

Code: [Select]
input.1.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.2=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.3=JOY2_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.4=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.5=JOY2_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.6=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.7=JOY2_VERT.0

and see if any extras work :)


edit:  this joystick tester worked for me

http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/16231/joystick-and-gamepad-tester
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/index.php?action=tpmod;dl=item295


and although it says 'usb devices' it still worked on the PS3 pad via bluetooth :)  (see picture attached)

« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 10:49:23 AM by Hungry Horace »
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  • Ultimate Amiga >
  • Forum >
  • Ultimate Amiga Emulation >
  • Ultimate Amiga Emulation News and Announcements (Moderator: TCD) >
  • New Release: E-UAE for OSX Package 1
 

TinyPortal 1.6.7 © 2005-2020