Ultimate Amiga

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 32 colors: Setting palettes in DP for use in Amos Pro  (Read 336 times)

MarcoCol

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Generic Amiga User
32 colors: Setting palettes in DP for use in Amos Pro
« on: May 12, 2017, 10:04:45 PM »

My goal is to create several background images, from current PC-screens (load jpg, convert with a program, lower the colors, optimize the background, finalize it with Deluxe Paint for example). They should be used in Amos Pro finally. They should use the following palette:
Color 0 for transparency (never change)
Colors 1 to 4 for GUI/HUG (never change)
Colors 5 to 31 for the main background (change in every screen).

Overall I think it will be hard, but it's possible, but how?
I have tried in Deluxe Paint to mix the palette to have each time the same colors for the palette-colors 0-4. I have in mind, that this work, but when I've done that the last time, that was about 25 years ago. When I move a color, the background change - but exactly that shouldn't change. How can I move colors and as long as the colors are in the image, the image won't change?
Can anyone help me with this?
Logged

Sidewinder

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
    • http://www.liquido2.com/
Re: 32 colors: Setting palettes in DP for use in Amos Pro
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 06:04:29 AM »

You could try setting the first 5 colors to something that is plainly obnoxious and couldn't possibly be in the image.  Then use the Color->Remap tool to have DPaint recolor your image with the new palette.  If everything goes right, the image will then not contain any pixels of colors 0-4.

This can get tricky though.  There may be some colors used in indices 0-4 that are important to the image.  If this is the case, you'll want to copy that color to one of the other color indices (5-31).  Try to overwrite a color that is already present (or has a very similar color) elsewhere in the palette.  Then try the steps above again.

Finally, if all that doesn't work, you may have to manually edit the image.  If you're using DPaint 4 or 5 (I'm not sure if it's in earlier versions) you can use the Color->Stencil tool to easily select a certain color in the image that you want to change.  Then use a very large brush (or the filled rectangle tool) and color over the image with the color you want to replace it with.  As an example, say you have a yellow in color 2 and you want to replace all uses of color 2 with another, similar yellow in color 14:  Set the stencil to only color 2, then select your current color to 14, and finally draw over the image with a large brush or the filled rectangle tool.  This will then free up color 2 for other uses.
Logged
- Sidewinder

MarcoCol

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: 32 colors: Setting palettes in DP for use in Amos Pro
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2017, 08:22:05 PM »

Thank you, for your feedback.

I tried the first idea, and it works perfectly!
I have done that now with a few scenes, and that work pretty good.

The next step will be to use the colors 1-4 for the GUI and to load them separately in Amos Pro, as already discussed in the other thread.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up