Ultimate Amiga

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 14   Go Down

Author Topic: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)  (Read 36650 times)

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,283
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2013, 08:20:33 PM »

Hi MadMunky

Attached is my brother's AMOS remake code.

It only ever worked for pillars and walls, and i've never really looked into it to see how it worked - i always figured i'd start from scratch if i was doing my own version!

Hope it helps.
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2013, 06:35:25 AM »

Cheers Horace, doesnt really help with my problem as it looks like your brothers done it pretty much identical to me :)

I'll continue working on the Wooden Object issue, hopefully I can work out a way which will work, apart from the wooden stuff and reading scrolls everything else is now in (Pits/Stairs/Banners/Doors/Shelfs/Buttons) I need to fix the wooden object stuff before I can move on

Is there anywhere in the map data which says which color the wall buttons are?
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,283
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2013, 07:50:20 AM »

Is there anywhere in the map data which says which color the wall buttons are?

no, as far as i can tell there is some kind of randomise "seed" that determines the colour of "general" wall tapestries and gems.... meaning that they stay the same every time but without being determined by map data.

i have two AMOS books that mention coding this type of game - i will check which ones they are and see if they are available as downloads here.
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2013, 10:18:23 AM »

OK Anyone got any ideas how they would have done this type of game

What I'm doing is building up the screen with 28 images from the back to the front then checking the map to find out what object is at each of the squares to draw the correct image

This works fine until we come to do the wooden objects as each wooden square could have 4 different images that need to be drawn. If anyone's got any ideas on hows best to do this please let me know as I'm currently stuck
Logged

osiris37

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #19 on: February 14, 2013, 11:52:53 AM »

Are you trying to place them with transparency? If so would it work better to have separate graphics for each combinational position (i.e if there would be a stone wall in the see-through area to actually have a solid graphic with the stone included, I'd imagine you'd have to work out some code to place the correct version in your map matrix depending on which direction you are approaching it from) or is that not feasible due to how may separate wooden wall graphics you'd need? Just a thought :)

EDIT: On second thoughts that wouldn't work, you'd need transparency to show partial monster graphics in doorways if you're standing at a right angle to the door. *ignore the above comment, it's daft* :)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2013, 08:53:05 PM by osiris37 »
Logged
Uh oh! He's back, err... no, it's those pesky thargoids again!

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2013, 09:53:12 AM »

Finally cracked it, just need to fix the walls based on the player rotation and fix all the drawing logic I've now broken to get this working but I think that is now all the drawing logic possible.

Logged

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2013, 11:34:14 AM »

Quick progress updates...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUaT2KZGtVY

Its taken me around a week to rewrite how I was doing the graphics due to wooden objects not being drawn correctly, I have now fixed that so everything that needs to be drawn is drawn. I now need to fix wall objects so they are drawn on the right side of the wall and the colour on the banners is correct.

Also I need to fix my screen offsets for different images so your see there is gaps in walls etc where its not drawn correctly but this is just a minor issue and a quick fix.

Im am happy with the progress, now to fix the bugs I've created and direction of wall objects then I can move on to collision detection and opening of doors and switching levels
« Last Edit: February 16, 2013, 01:00:03 PM by MadMunky »
Logged

osiris37

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2013, 06:59:09 PM »

looking good MM :) I had a bit of spare time earlier today so I started having a go at some walls, here is a quick peek, these are using an unlimited palette and there are still some of the further back walls to do. What I'd love to do is create some walls using the original 16 col palette for bloodwych and do some hi res versions at a later date so I'll probably put this one on hold for now, was wondering if you or Horace had any ripped .iff artwork from the amiga that I could get the palette from (The initial character choice screen would be good as i know that definitely used all the colours).

Not 100% sure about this version though, I think that the biggest stone needs to be halved, anyway I'll be doing some walls using a limited palette next so that they tie in with the original BW artwork as this one obviously doesn't.

Cheers
S
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 07:02:12 PM by osiris37 »
Logged
Uh oh! He's back, err... no, it's those pesky thargoids again!

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2013, 07:18:25 PM »

Very nice ill try them out :) sorry but I don't have any amiga gfx hopefully Horace will though.

Plus side is on wall graphics are now all being displayed correct so flags/scripts/shelfs are now working not quite sure what to do about the random color flags they might actually have to be random in my version, need to fix the screen offsets and then it's all the graphics completed so on to the next steps. osiris37 if I manage to make this into a full remake (I'm hoping it will and I have the time/programming ability to do it) would you be interested in doing a full set of HD graphics?
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,283
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #24 on: February 17, 2013, 08:14:02 PM »

hey - nice work all round guys!!

MM - i would love to port your code over to the amiga some time.... sadly time is at a premium while i am still studying. I dont see any reason why the palette couldnt be increased to at least 32, and just "accept" that the game may need 1 meg or even more....

How much of your code is commented?  Keep in mind i am only familiar with "Basic" style languages and some amiga ASM (randomly)... I would like to have a look to see if i would find it difficult to port!



Osiris - i really hope you will continue to work on graphics for the Amiga's limitations!

I would love to see something like these in red too (like EOTB)  ... and maybe some consideration can be given to other "environments"  ... e.g. caves, forests (will need a different ceiling/floor also) etc. in the future (as i said, this may need a slightly bigger palette set)

I have attached a massive stack of ripped images including the original palette.  i think there is only one "black" afaik, with the extra being used to change colour for text etc via a copper change i think, and if transparency is needed, then the internal "recolouring" system simply does not paste that particular colour.  I will probably do away with this, even on an amiga based remake, in favour of having pre-coloured graphics readily available. Although memory inefficient, i dont think this should be much of an issue if the primary user-base is via emulation.
 

Link to images ZIP:
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/HostedProjects/GamesCorner/TheCryptOfBloodwych/Amiga/BW-MassiveGFXset.zip
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 305
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,283
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #25 on: February 17, 2013, 08:20:27 PM »

MM - two questsion from your video

where switches / scrolls occur, are they currently being drawn on all 4 sides of the wall??

Where you "walk though" the big metal doors or portcullis, you are missing the graphics for "standing in an open door" are you not?
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

osiris37

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #26 on: February 17, 2013, 08:30:22 PM »

osiris37 if I manage to make this into a full remake (I'm hoping it will and I have the time/programming ability to do it) would you be interested in doing a full set of HD graphics?

Yep I'd be totally into that :)



Osiris - i really hope you will continue to work on graphics for the Amiga's limitations!

I would love to see something like these in red too (like EOTB)  ... and maybe some consideration can be given to other "environments"  ... e.g. caves, forests (will need a different ceiling/floor also) etc. in the future (as i said, this may need a slightly bigger palette set)


Sure, I'd ideally create the graphics for the amiga first and then use those as a base for the higher res versions, that way we could use the graphics in an Amiga Port and the Java Remake that MM's creating. Wierdly enough I was out with the family this afternoon at a local castle and I was randomly taking pictures of walls, paving and the hedges of the maze they had there, for graphical reference material :)

Yes. 32 Cols would be awesome :)

I have attached a massive stack of ripped images including the original palette.  i think there is only one "black" afaik, with the extra being used to change colour for text etc via a copper change i think, and if transparency is needed, then the internal "recolouring" system simply does not paste that particular colour.  I will probably do away with this, even on an amiga based remake, in favour of having pre-coloured graphics readily available. Although memory inefficient, i dont think this should be much of an issue if the primary user-base is via emulation.
 

Cheers Horace I'll have a look through these :)
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 10:26:25 PM by osiris37 »
Logged
Uh oh! He's back, err... no, it's those pesky thargoids again!

osiris37

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #27 on: February 17, 2013, 08:35:56 PM »

MM - two questsion from your video

where switches / scrolls occur, are they currently being drawn on all 4 sides of the wall??


I noticed that too, at one point a blue button is behind a bed :)
I was wondering if BW used a map matrix that referenced individual walls instead of whole blocks?
Logged
Uh oh! He's back, err... no, it's those pesky thargoids again!

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #28 on: February 17, 2013, 09:10:01 PM »

Horace: your welcome to have my code it's very messy and badly done currently why I just try get it all working then ill go back and change it and comment it as best I can I don't see it being too hard for you to work its done in a very similar style to your brothers code as for the buttons they are all only now draw on the correct sides of the walls in the video i posted they where on all 4 sides hence why there is so many flags and shelfs but that's all fixed now.

What would be a big help Horace would be if you could finish off commenting the level code like how the scrolls are done and its would be nice to fully support all the original code and not have to change anything also means your editor will work :)

Logged

MadMunky

  • Forum Mod
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Bloodwych Remake (HTML Version)
« Reply #29 on: February 17, 2013, 09:12:50 PM »

Of and yes I'm missing the door frame etc graphics I did have it but removed it when I redid the graphics so I need to add that back in.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 14   Go Up