Ultimate Amiga

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: BOLD >PRINT<  (Read 667 times)

Volvo_0ne

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • A1200 lover
BOLD >PRINT<
« on: November 21, 2017, 08:37:23 PM »

After RTFM and experimenting...

I just cannot get BOLD typeface in the AMOS PRINT instruction.

NB:Not in the TEXT instruction

Either I have missed something or just thick, but underline is easy but not bold, maybe there is an escape code for it but I cannot find it anywhere!

HELP!
Logged
Transuranic heavy elements may not be used where there is life.

adrazar

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: BOLD >PRINT<
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2017, 08:59:09 AM »

I don't think you are missing anything. Why not use Set Text + Text? (If it feels unpleasant converting from text to graphic coordinates you might find X Graphic and Y Graphic useful.)
Logged

Volvo_0ne

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • A1200 lover
Re: BOLD >PRINT<
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 10:49:08 PM »

Fair comment I suppose adrazar, but it just seems strange that the PRINT (a very basic & critical part of any language) doesn't support bold.
Logged
Transuranic heavy elements may not be used where there is life.

jimwon2016

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: BOLD >PRINT<
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 01:48:06 PM »

The reason it doesn't have a Bold or Italic is because fonts on the Amiga don't have those options. For example, if you have set your font to "topaz", there is no bold version of that font. You would have to set your font to "topaz_bold" to get a different look.

You could get a font editor and make your own bold version of a font and then switch between them if it's that important for your program.
Logged

jimwon2016

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: BOLD >PRINT<
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2018, 02:05:57 PM »

Sorry to double post - this jogged my memory.

If you take a look on Productivity2/Procedures/Text/ you'll find a routine called _Text_Highlight.AMOS which will outline a piece of text with a specified colour. It doesn't use the Print command though, but you could use it with the same colour for the text and the highlight to give a pseudo bold effect.
Logged

adrazar

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: BOLD >PRINT<
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2018, 10:54:27 PM »

If you take a look on Productivity2/Procedures/Text/ you'll find a routine called _Text_Highlight.AMOS which will outline a piece of text with a specified colour. It doesn't use the Print command though, but you could use it with the same colour for the text and the highlight to give a pseudo bold effect.
Yay, that procedure held the solution to how I can make text shading: Gr Writing 0! :D
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up